Week 13: Hiked Camelback with a friend from high school

Every week in 2011, for 52-straight weeks, I hope to try something new and blog about it here. This is the 13th post in the series, when I climbed Camelback Mountain in Scottsdale/Phoenix with my best friend from high school . Here you will find a list of all my weekly adventures thus far.

The month of March was CRAZY (fun) at my house. We had five groups of friends/family visit Arizona which meant something to do and entertaining to be had every single week. This was literally 0-to-60 for me, as I barely know anyone in the entire state of Arizona and being jobless for so long meant hardly ever going out.

Looks like April will be more of the same old story ;) But it was nice to have visitors, see old friends, family and be active and adventurous out here. Most recently, my best friend from high school, Laura, flew out as our final visitor in March. We hadn’t seen each other since her wedding in 2009.

Her visit began with this week’s new thing on Wednesday at noon. I have never hiked Camelback Mountain in Phoenix before! It’s hailed as one of the top urban hiking trails in the country, as a grueling climb just minutes from the sixth-largest metropolitian area in the United States.

(Source)

I’m not lying when I say it’s a grueling hike. At some points we were completely vertical, without a trail, jumping from rock-to-rock, using only a handrail or a fence for support. My knee is still a mess from my running injury last summer, so I was smart enough to have to foresight to wear my knee brace. Without it, I don’t think I could have made it.

Funny story though, we didn’t actually make it… This week has been one of the hottest on record in Phoenix. It actually hit 100° yesterday. I’m sure you can imagine, then, how warm it was at 12 p.m. hiking a 3 mile round trip mountainous trail. In fact, the combination of our lungs, limbs and only two water bottles between us did us in. We made it about a third of the way up the mountain before heading back. It took around 45 minutes to do the mile trek, with a slight glimpse of the summit. I wouldn’t change a thing! Catching up with an old friend while laughing at the older men and children (some with dogs) who sprinted past us really made for a fun start to her trip. Clearly I’m not acclimated to the desert yet, and I’ve only lived here eight months. I do plan to go back to Camelback sometime in the very near future to finish what I started.

…As long as I’m out by 6 a.m. and NOT the late morning/early afternoon. I think I’ll also need to invest in a Camelbak (ha, no pun intended, but that was awesome) for serious hydration with temperatures in the 80s/90s here to stay and get hotter.

(Source)

Laura also took me on another first trip: thrift shopping! I fell in love (as you can imagine on my limited budget) and will definitely do that in favor of mall/department store shopping from here on out. Details to come in a future post :)

In the meantime, I present to you: MONIQUE & LAURA’S AWESOME CAMELBACK ADVENTURE

View from the first tier just to get up to the mountain trail

Smiling because I had no idea what more lay ahead…

Plane to mountain in under 20 minutes, go Laura!

Last part of the hike we were able to do

Uncharted territory. I WILL return to tackle you, Camelback.

Funny how we literally were twins and didn’t even plan it! She packed that outfit for the plane and I rolled out of bed and threw on some dry fit clothing :)

We joked about snapping a photo at our most gassed point in the hike, in full sunlight, out of water and peanut butter sandwiches and sweating out of control. Clearly, I’ve spared you all of such a photo (it doesn’t even exist, btw). After, we treated ourselves to some window shopping in Downtown Scottsdale and an old fashioned soda shop treat (the orange raft J.D. and I shared when we first moved here). It was sooooooo awesome to hang out with one of my best childhood friends this week! I’m a little sad to return to an empty house again. But happy for the wonderful month we’ve had in March. Sooooo, if you’re thinking about heading to Arizona, come visit! I love entertaining friends and family!

Also, I just discovered this cover recently and can’t wait to share it. It’s no secret how much I love Katy Perry. And she looks so cute in this video :) Enjoy the rest of your weekend, xx!

http://media.mtvnservices.com/mgid:uma:video:mtv.com:455025

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Week 13: Hiked Camelback with a friend from high school

  1. The views are amazing, but that looks like one tough hike! Glad you guys had a good time!

  2. That mountain looks tough! Way to give it a go without injuring yourself!

  3. That hike is amazing!!! I have it seen it on a few blogs lately it must be hiking season!!

  4. I regret never hiking Camelback :( And how do you all look so cute while hiking? I would look like a hot mess! Kudos to your friend for getting off the plane then going on a hike. I am usually all about getting an adult bevvie after a flight.

    • Thanks… but the majority of these pictures were taken before the hike, or after the worst part, after ample hydration ha! And technically I didn’t finish Camelback… Definitely going back to finish!

  5. Aww, way to go! You will totally finish the rest of that climb one day. Glad you guys had fun even if it was grueling, haha!

  6. Umm that is pretty intense and I would not look so cute in all those pictures like you do! Let’s just say, I sweat – I do not glow!

  7. i love camel packs. i take them with me on long bike rides and long hikes and they are so so so handy. they really are the most convenient water pack to bring along.

    xoxo <3

Leave a Reply

